Wolverines Coaching at College Level; 2015 Week 11 Preview

Facebook Twitter Email

Fergodsakes.com previews the college football games each weekend involving a University of Michigan Wolverines coaching connection. Former Michigan players and coaches are on the sidelines as coaches of various college programs (for Fergodsakes.com’s University of Michigan football coaching trees, click here).

Michigan Wolverines Band 9.13.14

Former Wolverines Coaching Against Each Other

#14 Michigan (7-2) at Indiana (4-5), 3:30pm ET on ABC/ESPN2
Jim Harbaugh (quarterback 1982-86 and Head Coach 2015-):
Tyrone Wheatley (running back 1991-94 and Running Backs Coach 2015-):
Greg Frey (OL Coach 2008-2010):
Frey is now the OL Coach with Indiana.

Texas (4-5) at West Virginia (4-4), noon ET, ESPNU
Tony Gibson (Secondary Coach 2008-10); and Now Defensive Coordinator with West Virginia.
Bruce Tall (Defensive Line Coach 2008-10):
Gibson is now Defensive Coordinator with West Virginia, and Tall is the Defensive Line Coach.
Vance Bedford (DB Coach 1995-98; Secondary Coach 2007):
Now Defensive Coordinator at his alma mater, the University of Texas.
Michigan’s DB Coach in 2007 is now DC for Texas, while Michigan’s DB Coach in 2008 is now DC for West Virginia.

Purdue (2-7) at Northwestern (7-2), noon ET, 11:00am CT, Big Ten Network
Terry Malone (Offensive Line Coach 1997-2001; Offensive Coordinator 2002-2005):
Malone is in his first season as Boilers’ Tight End Coach.
Mike Hankwitz (tight end 1967-69):
A senior on the 1969 team, Hankwitz is now the Defensive Coordinator for Northwestern.

Former Michigan Players and/or Coaches

Wednesday Night

Mike Hart (running back 2004-07):
A senior on Team 128, Hart is now Running Backs Coach for Western Michigan University.
The Broncos are now 6-4 after a 41-27 loss to Bowling Green on Wednesday night.

Thursday Night

Scot Loeffler (quarterback 1993-96 and QB Coach 2002-07):
In his third season as Offensive Coordinator with Virginia Tech.
The Hokies, 4-5, played Georgia Tech on Thursday night.

Saturday

Marcus Knight (wide receiver 1996-99):
Member of the 1997 National Championship team and a senior on Team 120, Knight is now Northern Michigan University Wide Receivers Coach.
A Division II squad, the 5-5 Wildcats close out their season at Findlay, noon ET.

Mike DeBord (Tight Ends Coach 1992-94; OL Coach 1995-96; Offensive Coordinator 1997-99 and 2006-07; Special Teams Coordinator 2004-05):
Steve Stripling (Defensive Line Coach 2005-07):
DeBord is in his first season as Offensive Coordinator and Stripling is in his third season as Defensive Line Coach at the University of Tennessee.
The Volunteers, 5-4, host North Texas, noon ET on SEC Network.

Darrell Funk (Offensive Line Coach 2011-14):
Now Offensive Line Coach at University of Akron.
The 4-5 Zips visit Miami OH, noon ET, ESPN3.

Doug Nussmeier (Offensive Coordinator 2014):
Now Offensive Coordinator at University of Florida.
Florida, 8-1 and #11 in the country, visits South Carolina at noon ET on ESPN.

Jim Lyall (defensive lineman 1970-73):
Lyall is now Head Coach of the NAIA Siena Heights Saints.
The 4-5 Saints close their season at Marian (IN) in a 1:00pm ET kickoff.

Derrick Alexander (wide receiver 1989-93):
A senior on Team 114, Alexander is now the Wide Receivers Coach at Wilmington College.
The Quakers of Division III, 1-8, finish their season at Muskingum, 1:30pm ET.

Jay Hopson (Linebackers Coach 2008-09):
Now Head Coach of Alcorn State.
The Division I-AA Braves of the SWAC, 5-3, visit Texas Southern, 2:00pm ET, 1:00pm CT.

Adam Braithwaite (Safeties Coach, 2010):
Now in his fourth season with the University of Tennessee Chattanooga, and his third as Defensive Coordinator.
The Mocs, 7-2 and ranked #8 in FCS, host Citadel, 2:00pm ET.

Jon Bills (tight end 2008-10):
Now Offensive Line Coach for Division II Adams State.
The Grizzlies, 3-7, finish their season at Colorado School of the Mines, 3:00pm ET, 1:00pm MT.

Mark Smith (Linebackers Coach 2011-13; Defensive Line Coach 2014):
Smith is in his first season as the Defensive Line Coach with Florida Tech.
The 7-3 Panthers of Division II visit 18th ranked Valdosta State, 3:00pm ET.

Mike Elston (linebacker 1993-96):
A senior on Team 117, Elston is now the DL Coach for Notre Dame.
The 8-1 Irish, ranked 4th in the land, host Wake Forest, 3:30pm ET on NBC.

Scott Shafer (Defensive Coordinator 2008):
Shafer is in his third season as Head Coach of the Orange.
Syracuse, 3-6, hosts top-ranked Clemson, 3:30pm ET on ABC/ESPN2.

Chuck Heater (running back 1971-74):
Heater is in his third season as Marshall’s Defensive Coordinator.
The Herd, 9-1, host Florida International, 3:30pm ET.

Adam Stenavich (offensive lineman 2001-05), OL Coach; and
Al Borges (Offensive Coordinator 2011-13), Offensive Coordinator; and
Greg Robinson (Defensive Coordinator 2009-10), Defensive Coordinator; and
Dan Ferrigno (Tight Ends Coach 2011-14), Special Teams Coordinator
All now with San Jose State University. The Spartans, 4-5, visit Nevada, 4pm ET, 1pm PT.

Jeff Hecklinski (Wide Receivers Coach 2011-14): Now QB Coach at Colorado State University-Pueblo; and
Roy Roundtree (Wide Receiver 2008-12): Now Wide Receivers Coach for the ThunderWolves
The Thunderwolves, 9-1 and ranked #4 in Division II, visit New Mexico Highlands, 4:00pm ET, 2:00pm MT

Les Miles (offensive lineman 1972-75 and Offensive Line Coach 1987-94)
Cam Cameron (WR Coach 1986-89; WR & QB Coach 1990-1993)
Miles, a senior on Team 96, is now Head Coach at LSU, where Cameron is his Offensive Coordinator.
LSU, 7-1 and #9 in the land, host Arkansas, 7:15pm ET, 6:15pm CT, on ESPN.

Tony Dews (WR Coach 2008-10), WR Coach; and
Calvin McGee (Offensive Coordinator 2008-10), Offensive Coordinator; and
Rod Smith (QB Coach 2008-10), QB Coach;
All with the Arizona Wildcats and Rich Rodriguez.
The Wildcats, 5-5, host 10th ranked Utah, 10:00pm ET, 7:00pm PT on Fox Sports 1.

Curt Mallory (linebacker 1988-91 and DB Coach 2011-14):
Mallory is now DB Coach with the University of Wyoming.
The 1-9 Cowboys visit San Diego State, 10:30pm ET, 7:30pm PT on CBS Sports Network.

Roy Manning (linebacker 2000-04 and DB Coach 2014):
Manning is in his first season as OLB Coach for Washington State.
The Cougars, 6-3, visit 19th ranked UCLA, 10:45pm ET, 7:45pm PT on ESPN.

Matt Dyson (linebacker 1990-94):
A senior on Team 115, Dyson is now Head Coach for George Mason University, a club team.

Facebook Twitter Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *