Wolverines Coaching at College Level; 2015 Week 3 Preview

Facebook Twitter Email

Fergodsakes.com previews the college football games each weekend involving a University of Michigan Wolverines coaching connection. Former Michigan players and coaches are on the sidelines as coaches of various college programs (for Fergodsakes.com’s University of Michigan football coaching trees, click here).

Michigan Wolverines Band 9.13.14

Former M Men Coaching Against Each Other

Virginia Tech (1-1) at Purdue (1-1); 3:30pm ET on ESPNU
Terry Malone (Offensive Line Coach 1997-2001; Offensive Coordinator 2002-2005):
Malone is in his first season as Boilers’ Tight End Coach.
Scot Loeffler (quarterback 1993-96 and QB Coach 2002-07):
In his third season as Offensive Coordinator with Virginia Tech.
From 2002-2005, Loeffler was Quarterback Coach with Malone as his boss in the Offensive Coordinator position for Michigan. During their time together Michigan was 36-14 with one Big Ten Championship. The Wolverines were 1-3 against the Buckeyes and 1-3 in their bowl games.

Wyoming (0-2) at Washington State (1-1); 8:30pm ET, 5:30pm PT on Pac 12 Network
Roy Manning (linebacker 2000-04 and DB Coach 2014):
Manning is in his first season as OLB Coach for Washington State.
Curt Mallory (linebacker 1988-91 and DB Coach 2011-14):
Mallory is now DB Coach with the University of Wyoming.
The two men who coached Michigan’s defensive backs last season meet up again in Pullman as the Cougars host the Cowboys.

Former Michigan Players and/or Coaches

Jim Harbaugh (quarterback 1982-86 and Head Coach 2015-):
Tyrone Wheatley (running back 1991-94 and Running Backs Coach 2015-):
The Wolverines, 1-1, host UNLV, noon ET on Big Ten Network.

Darrell Funk (Offensive Line Coach 2011-14):
Now Offensive Line Coach at University of Akron.
The 0-2 Zips host Savannah State at noon ET on ESPN3.

Mike Hankwitz (tight end 1967-69):
A senior on the 1969 team, Hankwitz is now the Defensive Coordinator for Northwestern.
The 2-0 Wildcats, ranked #23 in the nation, visit Duke at 12:30pm ET on ESPN3.

Scott Shafer (Defensive Coordinator 2008):
Shafer is in his third season as Head Coach of the Orange. Syracuse, 2-0, hosts Central Michigan at 12:30pm ET on ESPN3.

Adam Braithwaite (Safeties Coach, 2010):
Now in his fourth season with the University of Tennessee Chattanooga, and his third as Defensive Coordinator. The Mocs, 1-1 and ranked #12 in FCS, visit Samford at 3:30pm ET.

Mike Elston (linebacker 1993-96):
A senior on Team 117, Elston is now the DL Coach for Notre Dame.
The 2-0 Irish, ranked 8th in the land, host #14 Georgia Tech at 3:30pm ET on NBC.

Les Miles (offensive lineman 1972-75 and Offensive Line Coach 1987-94)
Cam Cameron (WR Coach 1986-89; WR & QB Coach 1990-1993)
Miles, a senior on Team 96, is now Head Coach at LSU, where Cameron is his Offensive Coordinator.
The #13 Tigers, 1-0, host #18 Auburn at 3:30pm ET, 2:30pm CT on CBS.

Chuck Heater (running back 1971-74):
Heater is in his third season as Marshall’s Defensive Coordinator.
The Herd, 1-1, host Norfolk State at 3:30pm ET.

Marcus Knight (wide receiver 1996-99):
Member of the 1997 National Championship team and a senior on Team 120, Knight is now Northern Michigan University Wide Receivers Coach.
A Division II squad, the 1-1 Wildcats host Hillsdale in a homecoming game at 4:00pm ET.

Greg Frey (OL Coach 2008-2010):
Frey is now the OL Coach with Indiana. The Hoosiers, 2-0, host Western Kentucky at 4:00pm ET on ESPNEWS.

Jay Hopson (Linebackers Coach 2008-09):
Now Head Coach of Alcorn State.
The Division I-AA Braves of the SWAC, 1-1, host Mississippi Valley State, 5:00pm ET.

Jim Lyall (defensive lineman 1970-73):
Lyall is now Head Coach of the NAIA Siena Heights Saints. The 2-0 Saints, ranked #20 in NAIA, host Concordia at 7:00pm ET.

Mike Hart (running back 2004-07):
A senior on Team 128, Hart is now Running Backs Coach for Western Michigan University.
The 0-2 Broncos host Murray State at 7:00pm ET on ESPN3.

Mike DeBord (Tight Ends Coach 1992-94; OL Coach 1995-96; Offensive Coordinator 1997-99 and 2006-07; Special Teams Coordinator 2004-05):
Steve Stripling (Defensive Line Coach 2005-07):
DeBord is in his first season as Offensive Coordinator and Stripling is in his third season as Defensive Line Coach at the University of Tennessee.
The Volunteers, 1-1, host Western Carolina at 7:00pm ET on ESPNU.

Mark Smith (Linebackers Coach 2011-13; Defensive Line Coach 2014):
Smith is in his first season as the Defensive Line Coach with Florida Tech.
The 0-2 Panthers host Warner at 7:00pm ET.

Derrick Alexander (wide receiver 1989-93):
A senior on Team 114, Alexander is now the Wide Receivers Coach at Wilmington College.
The Quakers of Division III, 1-0 to start the season, host Capital at 7:00pm ET.

Doug Nussmeier (Offensive Coordinator 2014):
Now Offensive Coordinator at University of Florida.
The 2-0 Gators visit Kentucky at 7:30pm ET on the SEC Network.

Vance Bedford (DB Coach 1995-98; Secondary Coach 2007):
Now Defensive Coordinator at his alma mater, the University of Texas.
The Longhorns, 1-1, host California, 7:30pm ET, 6:30pm CT on FOX.

Jeff Hecklinski (Wide Receivers Coach 2011-14):
Now QB Coach at Colorado State University-Pueblo.
The Thunderwolves, 1-1, host Western State at 8:00pm ET, 6:00pm MT.

Adam Stenavich (offensive lineman 2001-05), OL Coach; and
Al Borges (Offensive Coordinator 2011-13), Offensive Coordinator; and
Greg Robinson (Defensive Coordinator 2009-10), Defensive Coordinator; and
Dan Ferrigno (Tight Ends Coach 2011-14), Special Teams Coordinator
All now with San Jose State University. The Spartans, 1-1, visit Oregon State at 8:00pm ET, 5:00pm PT on PAC 12 Network.

Jon Bills (tight end 2008-10):
Now Offensive Line Coach for Division II Adams State.
The 0-2 Grizzlies visit Colorado Mesa University at 9pm ET, 7pm MT.

Tony Dews (WR Coach 2008-10), WR Coach; and
Calvin McGee (Offensive Coordinator 2008-10), Offensive Coordinator; and
Rod Smith (QB Coach 2008-10), QB Coach;
All with the Arizona Wildcats and Rich Rodriguez.
The 20th ranked Wildcats, 2-0, host Northern Arizona at 11:00pm ET, 8:00pm PT on PAC 12 Network.

Bye Week

Tony Gibson (Secondary Coach 2008-10); and Now Defensive Coordinator with West Virginia.
Bruce Tall (Defensive Line Coach 2008-10):
Gibson is now Defensive Coordinator with West Virginia, and Tall is the Defensive Line Coach.
The 2-0 Mountaineers have a bye this week.

Season Not Yet Started

Matt Dyson (linebacker 1990-94):
A senior on Team 115, Dyson is now Head Coach for George Mason University, a club team.

Facebook Twitter Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *