Wolverines Coaching at College Level; 2015 Week 4 Preview

Facebook Twitter Email

Fergodsakes.com previews the college football games each weekend involving a University of Michigan Wolverines coaching connection. Former Michigan players and coaches are on the sidelines as coaches of various college programs (for Fergodsakes.com’s University of Michigan football coaching trees, click here).

Michigan Wolverines Band 9.13.14

Former M Men Coaching Against Each Other

#8 LSU (2-0) at Syracuse (3-0), noon ET, ESPN
Les Miles (offensive lineman 1972-75 and Offensive Line Coach 1987-94)
Cam Cameron (WR Coach 1986-89; WR & QB Coach 1990-1993)
Miles, a senior on Team 96, is now Head Coach at LSU, where Cameron is his Offensive Coordinator.
Scott Shafer (Defensive Coordinator 2008):
Shafer is in his third season as Head Coach of the Orange.
Shafer never crossed paths with Miles or Cameron in Ann Arbor.

Tennessee (2-1) at Florida (3-0); 3:30pm ET on CBS
Mike DeBord (Tight Ends Coach 1992-94; OL Coach 1995-96; Offensive Coordinator 1997-99 and 2006-07; Special Teams Coordinator 2004-05):
Steve Stripling (Defensive Line Coach 2005-07):
DeBord is in his first season as Offensive Coordinator and Stripling is in his third season as Defensive Line Coach at the University of Tennessee.
Doug Nussmeier (Offensive Coordinator 2014):
Now Offensive Coordinator at University of Florida.
DeBord and Nussmeier were both at Michigan last season; DeBord in the athletic department, and Nussmeier as Offensive Coordinator. It was a year ago this weekend that Nussmeier’s quarterback, Shane Morris, was concussed, and the Monday from Hell played out with DeBord in a minor role.

Former Michigan Players and/or Coaches

Matt Dyson (linebacker 1990-94):
A senior on Team 115, Dyson is now Head Coach for George Mason University, a club team. The Patriots kick off their season against Wisconsin-Milwaukee at 11:00am ET in Baltimore, part of the National Club Football Association Fall Kickoff.

Jim Harbaugh (quarterback 1982-86 and Head Coach 2015-):
Tyrone Wheatley (running back 1991-94 and Running Backs Coach 2015-):
The Wolverines, 2-1, host BYU, noon ET on ABC.

Terry Malone (Offensive Line Coach 1997-2001; Offensive Coordinator 2002-2005):
Malone is in his first season as Boilers’ Tight End Coach. Purdue, 1-2, hosts Bowling Green at noon ET on the Big Ten Network.

Greg Frey (OL Coach 2008-2010):
Frey is now the OL Coach with Indiana. The Hoosiers, 3-0, visit Wake Forest 12:30pm ET on ESPN3.

Jim Lyall (defensive lineman 1970-73):
Lyall is now Head Coach of the NAIA Siena Heights Saints. The 2-1 Saints visit 5th ranked St. Xavier (IL), 2:00pm ET, 1:00pm CT.

Derrick Alexander (wide receiver 1989-93):
A senior on Team 114, Alexander is now the Wide Receivers Coach at Wilmington College.
The Quakers of Division III, 1-1, visit Otterbein at 2:00pm ET.

Jeff Hecklinski (Wide Receivers Coach 2011-14):
Now QB Coach at Colorado State University-Pueblo.
The Thunderwolves, 2-1, host Western New Mexico at 2:00pm ET, noon MT.

Tony Gibson (Secondary Coach 2008-10); and Now Defensive Coordinator with West Virginia.
Bruce Tall (Defensive Line Coach 2008-10):
Gibson is now Defensive Coordinator with West Virginia, and Tall is the Defensive Line Coach.
The 2-0 Mountaineers host Maryland at 3:00pm ET on Fox Sports 1.

Curt Mallory (linebacker 1988-91 and DB Coach 2011-14):
Mallory is now DB Coach with the University of Wyoming. The 0-3 Cowboys hos New Mexico 3:00pm ET, 1:00pm MT.

Jay Hopson (Linebackers Coach 2008-09):
Now Head Coach of Alcorn State.
The Division I-AA Braves of the SWAC, 2-1, host Concordia, 3:00pm ET, 2:00pm CT.

Scot Loeffler (quarterback 1993-96 and QB Coach 2002-07):
In his third season as Offensive Coordinator with Virginia Tech. The Hokies, 2-1, visit East Carolina in a 3:30pm ET matchup on ABC/ESPN2.

Mike Elston (linebacker 1993-96):
A senior on Team 117, Elston is now the DL Coach for Notre Dame.
The 3-0 Irish, ranked 6th in the land, host Massachusetts at 3:30pm ET on NBC.

Chuck Heater (running back 1971-74):
Heater is in his third season as Marshall’s Defensive Coordinator.
The Herd, 2-1, visit Kent State at 3:30pm ET on ESPN3.

Mike Hart (running back 2004-07):
A senior on Team 128, Hart is now Running Backs Coach for Western Michigan University.
The 1-2 Broncos visit undefeated and top-ranked Ohio State, 3:30pm ET on ABC/ESPN2.

Vance Bedford (DB Coach 1995-98; Secondary Coach 2007):
Now Defensive Coordinator at his alma mater, the University of Texas.
The Longhorns, 1-2, host #24 Oklahoma State at 3:30pm ET, 2:30pm CT on ESPN.

Darrell Funk (Offensive Line Coach 2011-14):
Now Offensive Line Coach at University of Akron.
The 1-2 Zips visit Louisiana Lafayette at 7:00pm ET on ESPN3.

Adam Braithwaite (Safeties Coach, 2010):
Now in his fourth season with the University of Tennessee Chattanooga, and his third as Defensive Coordinator. The Mocs, 2-1 and ranked #10 in FCS, visit Presbyterian College at 7:00pm ET.

Marcus Knight (wide receiver 1996-99):
Member of the 1997 National Championship team and a senior on Team 120, Knight is now Northern Michigan University Wide Receivers Coach.
A Division II squad, the 2-1 Wildcats visit Michigan Tech at 7:00pm ET.

Mark Smith (Linebackers Coach 2011-13; Defensive Line Coach 2014):
Smith is in his first season as the Defensive Line Coach with Florida Tech.
The 1-2 Panthers visit North Alabama at 7:00pm ET.

Mike Hankwitz (tight end 1967-69):
A senior on the 1969 team, Hankwitz is now the Defensive Coordinator for Northwestern.
The 3-0 Wildcats, ranked #17 in the nation, host Ball State at 8:00pm ET, 7:00pm CT on the Big Ten Network.

Jon Bills (tight end 2008-10):
Now Offensive Line Coach for Division II Adams State.
The 0-3 Grizzlies host Western State Colorado University at 8:00pm ET, 6:00pm MT.

Tony Dews (WR Coach 2008-10), WR Coach; and
Calvin McGee (Offensive Coordinator 2008-10), Offensive Coordinator; and
Rod Smith (QB Coach 2008-10), QB Coach;
All with the Arizona Wildcats and Rich Rodriguez.
The 16th ranked Wildcats, 3-0, host #9 UCLA at 8:00pm ET, 5:00pm PT on ABC.

Adam Stenavich (offensive lineman 2001-05), OL Coach; and
Al Borges (Offensive Coordinator 2011-13), Offensive Coordinator; and
Greg Robinson (Defensive Coordinator 2009-10), Defensive Coordinator; and
Dan Ferrigno (Tight Ends Coach 2011-14), Special Teams Coordinator
All now with San Jose State University. The Spartans, 1-2, host Fresno State at 10:30pm ET, 7:30pm PT on CBS Sports Network.

Bye Week

Roy Manning (linebacker 2000-04 and DB Coach 2014):
Manning is in his first season as OLB Coach for Washington State. The Huskies, 2-1, have a bye this week.

Facebook Twitter Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *