Wolverines Coaching at College Level; 2015 Week 6

Facebook Twitter Email

Fergodsakes.com previews the college football games each weekend involving a University of Michigan Wolverines coaching connection. Former Michigan players and coaches are on the sidelines as coaches of various college programs (for Fergodsakes.com’s University of Michigan football coaching trees, click here).

Michigan Wolverines Band 9.13.14

Friday Night

Chuck Heater (running back 1971-74):
Heater is in his third season as Marshall’s Defensive Coordinator.
The Herd, 4-1, host Southern Mississippi, 7:00pm ET on CBS Sports Network.

Scot Loeffler (quarterback 1993-96 and QB Coach 2002-07):
In his third season as Offensive Coordinator with Virginia Tech.
The Hokies, 2-3, host North Carolina State, 8:00pm ET on ESPN.

Former M Men Coaching Against Each Other

#13 Northwestern, 5-0, at #18 Michigan, 4-1, 3:30pm ET on Big Ten Network
Jim Harbaugh (quarterback 1982-86 and Head Coach 2015-):
Tyrone Wheatley (running back 1991-94 and Running Backs Coach 2015-):
The Wolverines, 4-1 and #18 in the land, host Northwesternvisit Maryland at noon ET on the Big Ten Network.
Mike Hankwitz (tight end 1967-69):
A senior on the 1969 team, Hankwitz is now the Defensive Coordinator for Northwestern.
Two of the top defenses in the land square off in Ann Arbor. Hankwitz’s crew is second to Michigan in most every Big Ten defensive category.

Former Michigan Players and/or Coaches

Jim Lyall (defensive lineman 1970-73):
Lyall is now Head Coach of the NAIA Siena Heights Saints. The 2-2 Saints visit second ranked and undefeated St. Francis (Ind.), noon ET.

Mike Hart (running back 2004-07):
A senior on Team 128, Hart is now Running Backs Coach for Western Michigan University.
The 1-3 Broncos host Central Michigan, noon ET on ESPN3.

Vance Bedford (DB Coach 1995-98; Secondary Coach 2007):
Now Defensive Coordinator at his alma mater, the University of Texas.
The Longhorns, 1-4, play 10th ranked Oklahoma in Dallas at noon ET, 11:00am CT on ABC.

Greg Frey (OL Coach 2008-2010):
Frey is now the OL Coach with Indiana.
The Hoosiers, 4-1, visit Penn State, noon ET on ESPN.

Marcus Knight (wide receiver 1996-99):
Member of the 1997 National Championship team and a senior on Team 120, Knight is now Northern Michigan University Wide Receivers Coach.
A Division II squad, the 3-2 Wildcats host Malone at 1:00pm ET.

Adam Braithwaite (Safeties Coach, 2010):
Now in his fourth season with the University of Tennessee Chattanooga, and his third as Defensive Coordinator.
The Mocs, 3-1 and ranked #6 in FCS, host Furman, 1:00pm ET on ESPN3.

Derrick Alexander (wide receiver 1989-93):
A senior on Team 114, Alexander is now the Wide Receivers Coach at Wilmington College.
The Quakers of Division III, 1-3, visit John Carroll, 1:30pm ET.

Darrell Funk (Offensive Line Coach 2011-14):
Now Offensive Line Coach at University of Akron.
The 2-3 Zips visit Eastern Michigan, 3:00pm ET on ESPN3.

Jon Bills (tight end 2008-10): Now Offensive Line Coach for Division II Adams State.
The Grizzlies, 1-4, visit Chadron State College, 3:00pm ET, 1:00pm MT.

Les Miles (offensive lineman 1972-75 and Offensive Line Coach 1987-94)
Cam Cameron (WR Coach 1986-89; WR & QB Coach 1990-1993)
Miles, a senior on Team 96, is now Head Coach at LSU, where Cameron is his Offensive Coordinator.
The Tigers, 4-0 and ranked #7 in the nation, host South Carolina 3:30pm ET, 2:30pm CT in a game moved to Baton Rouge due to flooding in South Carolina.

Mike DeBord (Tight Ends Coach 1992-94; OL Coach 1995-96; Offensive Coordinator 1997-99 and 2006-07; Special Teams Coordinator 2004-05):
Steve Stripling (Defensive Line Coach 2005-07):
DeBord is in his first season as Offensive Coordinator and Stripling is in his third season as Defensive Line Coach at the University of Tennessee.
The Volunteers, 2-3, host #19 Georgia at 3:30pm ET.

Terry Malone (Offensive Line Coach 1997-2001; Offensive Coordinator 2002-2005):
Malone is in his first season as Boilers’ Tight End Coach.
Purdue, 1-4, hosts Minnesota, 3:30pm ET on ESPNU.

Mike Elston (linebacker 1993-96):
A senior on Team 117, Elston is now the DL Coach for Notre Dame.
The 4-1 Irish, ranked 15th in the land, host Navy, 3:30pm ET on NBC.

Scott Shafer (Defensive Coordinator 2008):
Shafer is in his third season as Head Coach of the Orange.
Syracuse, 3-1, visits South Florida, 3:30pm ET on CBS Sports Network.

Tony Dews (WR Coach 2008-10), WR Coach; and
Calvin McGee (Offensive Coordinator 2008-10), Offensive Coordinator; and
Rod Smith (QB Coach 2008-10), QB Coach;
All with the Arizona Wildcats and Rich Rodriguez.
The Wildcats, 3-2, host Oregon State, 4:00pm ET on Fox Sports 1.

Jeff Hecklinski (Wide Receivers Coach 2011-14): Now QB Coach at Colorado State University-Pueblo; and
Roy Roundtree (Wide Receiver 2008-12): Now Wide Receivers Coach for the ThunderWolves
The Thunderwolves, 4-1, host Fort Lewis in a Homecoming Game, 4:00pm ET, 2:00pm MT

Roy Manning (linebacker 2000-04 and DB Coach 2014):
Manning is in his first season as OLB Coach for Washington State.
The Huskies, 2-2, visit Oregon at 6:00pm ET, 3:00pm PT on PAC12 Network.

Tony Gibson (Secondary Coach 2008-10); and Now Defensive Coordinator with West Virginia.
Bruce Tall (Defensive Line Coach 2008-10):
Gibson is now Defensive Coordinator with West Virginia, and Tall is the Defensive Line Coach.
The 3-1 Mountaineers host #21 Oklahoma State, 7:00pm ET on ESPN2.

Mark Smith (Linebackers Coach 2011-13; Defensive Line Coach 2014):
Smith is in his first season as the Defensive Line Coach with Florida Tech.
The 2-3 Panthers host West Alabama at 7:00pm ET.

Doug Nussmeier (Offensive Coordinator 2014):
Now Offensive Coordinator at University of Florida.
The Gators are 5-0 and ranked #11. They visit Missouri, 7:30pm ET on SEC Network.

Adam Stenavich (offensive lineman 2001-05), OL Coach; and
Al Borges (Offensive Coordinator 2011-13), Offensive Coordinator; and
Greg Robinson (Defensive Coordinator 2009-10), Defensive Coordinator; and
Dan Ferrigno (Tight Ends Coach 2011-14), Special Teams Coordinator
All now with San Jose State University. The Spartans, 2-3, visit UNLV at 9:00pm ET, 6:00pm PT.

Curt Mallory (linebacker 1988-91 and DB Coach 2011-14):
Mallory is now DB Coach with the University of Wyoming.
The 0-5 Cowboys visit Air Force, 10:15pm ET, 8:15pm MT, on ESPN2.

Sunday

Matt Dyson (linebacker 1990-94):
A senior on Team 115, Dyson is now Head Coach for George Mason University, a club team.
The Patriots, 0-2, host Maryland-Eastern Shore at 1:00pm ET.

Bye Week

Jay Hopson (Linebackers Coach 2008-09):
Now Head Coach of Alcorn State.
The Division I-AA Braves of the SWAC, 4-1, have a bye this week.

Facebook Twitter Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *