Wolverines Coaching at College Level; 2015 Week One Preview

Facebook Twitter Email

Fergodsakes.com previews the college football games each weekend involving a University of Michigan Wolverines coaching connection. Former Michigan players and coaches are on the sidelines as coaches of various college programs (for Fergodsakes.com’s University of Michigan football coaching trees, click here).

Michigan Wolverines Band 9.13.14

Former Michigan Players and/or Coaches Facing Each Other

Texas at Notre Dame, Saturday, 7:30pm ET, NBC
Mike Elston (linebacker 1993-96): A senior on Team 117, Elston is now the DL Coach for Notre Dame. The Irish host Texas and its Defensive Coordinator Vance Bedford, Michigan’s DB Coach 1995-98; Secondary Coach 2007. Bedford was a coach for Elston’s last two years as a player at Michigan in 1995 and 1996. In 1995 Michigan finished 9-4, defeating Virginia in the dramatic Pigskin Classic opener, beating OSU in the Biakabatuka game, and ultimately losing to Texas A&M in the Alamo Bowl. A redshirt freshman by the name of Tom Brady was on that team, as was freshman defensive back stud Charles Woodson. The 1996 squad finished 8-4, beating the Buckeyes in Columbus 13-9 before falling to Alabama in the Outback Bowl, 17-14.

Purdue at Marshall, Sunday, 3:00pm ET, Fox Sports 1
Chuck Heater (running back 1971-74): Heater is in his third season as Marshall’s Defensive Coordinator. The Herd face off against Purdue on Sunday, 3:00pm ET on Fox Sports 1. In his first season as Boilers’ Tight End Coach is Terry Malone, Michigan’s Offensive Line Coach 1997-2001; Offensive Coordinator 2002-2005.

Former Michigan Players and/or Coaches

Thursday Night, September 3

Jay Hopson (Linebackers Coach 2008-09):
Now Head Coach of Alcorn State. The Division I-AA Braves of the SWAC visit 16th ranked Georgia Tech, 7:30pm ET on ESPN3.

Jon Bills (tight end 2008-10):
Now Offensive Line Coach for Division II Adams State. The Grizzlies kick of their season at 8:00pm ET, 7:00pm CT when they visit Texas A&M Commerce.

Jim Harbaugh (quarterback 1982-86 and Head Coach 2015-):
Tyrone Wheatley (running back 1991-94 and Running Backs Coach 2015-):
The Wolverines kick off the season at Utah, 8:30pm ET, 6:30pm MT, Fox Sports.

Adam Stenavich (offensive lineman 2001-05), OL Coach; and
Al Borges (Offensive Coordinator 2011-13), Offensive Coordinator; and
Greg Robinson (Defensive Coordinator 2009-10), Defensive Coordinator; and
Dan Ferrigno (Tight Ends Coach 2011-14), Special Teams Coordinator
All now with San Jose State University. The Spartans host New Hampshire at 10pm ET, 7pm PT to kick off their season.

Tony Dews (WR Coach 2008-10), WR Coach; and
Calvin McGee (Offensive Coordinator 2008-10), Offensive Coordinator; and
Rod Smith (QB Coach 2008-10), QB Coach;
All with the Arizona Wildcats and Rich Rodriguez. The Wildcats open their season at 10pm ET, 7pm AZ time, hosting Texas San Antonio.

Friday Night, September 4

Mike Hart (running back 2004-07):
A senior on Team 128, Hart is now Running Backs Coach for Western Michigan University. The Broncos host Michigan State in Kalamazoo. Wonder if Dantonio will talk about Hart’s height again? Kickoff is 7:00pm ET on ESPNU.

Scott Shafer (Defensive Coordinator 2008):
Shafer is in his third season as Head Coach of the Orange. Syracuse kicks off its season hosting Rhode Island, 7:00pm ET on ESPN3.

Saturday, September 5

Mike Hankwitz (tight end 1967-69):
A senior on the 1969 team, Hankwitz is now the Defensive Coordinator for Northwestern. The Wildcats host #21 Stanford, noon ET, 11am CT, on ESPN.

Marcus Knight (wide receiver 1996-99):
Member of the 1997 National Championship team and a senior on Team 120, Knight is now Northern Michigan University Wide Receivers Coach. A Division II squad, the Wildcats kick off their season at Northwood, 1pm ET.

Derrick Alexander (wide receiver 1989-93):
A senior on Team 114, Alexander is now the Wide Receivers Coach at Wilmington College. The Quakers of Division III open their season by hosting Bluffton, 1:30pm ET.

Jim Lyall (defensive lineman 1970-73):
Lyall is now Head Coach of the NAIA Siena Heights Saints. The Saints, ranked #23 in the land in NAIA, start their fourth season of varsity competition by visiting Lindenwood, 2:00pm ET.

Roy Manning (linebacker 2000-04 and DB Coach 2014):
Manning is in his first season as OLB Coach for Washington State. The Cougars host Portland State, 2pm ET, 11am PT, on the Pac 12 Network.

Curt Mallory (linebacker 1988-91 and DB Coach 2011-14):
Mallory is now DB Coach with the University of Wyoming. The Cowboys kick off their season hosting North Dakota State, 4pm ET, 2pm MT.

Greg Frey (OL Coach 2008-10):
Frey is now the OL Coach with Indiana. The Hoosiers host Southern Illinois, 4pm ET on ESPNEWS.

Mike DeBord (Tight Ends Coach 1992-94; OL Coach 1995-96; Offensive Coordinator 1997-99 and 2006-07; Special Teams Coordinator 2004-05):
Steve Stripling (Defensive Line Coach 2005-07):
DeBord is in his first season as Offensive Coordinator and Stripling is in his third season as Defensive Line Coach at the University of Tennessee.
The Volunteers host Bowling Green, 4:00pm ET on SEC Network.

Adam Braithwaite (Safeties Coach, 2010):
Now in his fourth season with the University of Tennessee Chattanooga, and his third as Defensive Coordinator. The Mocs, ranked #8 in FCS, host Jacksonville State, 6:00pm ET.

Darrell Funk (Offensive Line Coach 2011-14):
Now Offensive Line Coach at University of Akron. The Zips open their season at #19 Oklahoma, 7:00pm ET.

Jeff Hecklinski (Wide Receivers Coach 2011-14):
Now QB Coach at Colorado State University-Pueblo. The Thunderwolves kick off their season hosting Central Washington at 7:00pm ET, 5:00pm MT.

Mark Smith (Linebackers Coach 2011-13; Defensive Line Coach 2014):
Smith is in his first season as the Defensive Line Coach with Florida Tech. The Panthers kick off their season hosting Newberry at 7:00pm ET.

Les Miles (offensive lineman 1972-75 and Offensive Line Coach 1987-94)
Cam Cameron (WR Coach 1986-89; WR & QB Coach 1990-1993)
Miles, a senior on Team 96, is now Head Coach at LSU, where Cameron is his Offensive Coordinator. The #14 Tigers host McNeese State 7:30pm ET, 6:30pm CT on SEC Network.

Doug Nussmeier (Offensive Coordinator 2014):
Now Offensive Coordinator at University of Florida. The Gators kick off their season hosting New Mexico State, 7:30pm ET on SEC Network.

Tony Gibson (Secondary Coach 2008-10); and Now Defensive Coordinator with West Virginia.
Bruce Tall (Defensive Line Coach 2008-10):
Gibson is now Defensive Coordinator with West Virginia, and Tall is the Defensive Line Coach. The Mountaineers host Georgia Southern, 7:30pm ET.

Monday September 7

Scot Loeffler (quarterback 1993-96 and QB Coach 2002-07):
In his third season as Offensive Coordinator with Virginia Tech, the Hokies host #1 Ohio State, 8:00pm ET on ESPN.

Season Not Yet Started

Matt Dyson (linebacker 1990-94):
A senior on Team 115, Dyson is now Head Coach for George Mason University, a club team.

Facebook Twitter Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *