Wolverines Coaching at College Level; 2014 Week 11

Facebook Twitter Email

Fergodsakes.com previews the college football games each weekend involving a University of Michigan Wolverines coaching connection. Former Michigan players and coaches are on the sidelines as coaches of various college programs (for Fergodsakes.com’s University of Michigan football coaching trees, click here). Their schedules for this weekend (all games on Saturday unless otherwise noted):

Michigan Wolverines Band 9.13.14

Former Wolverines Coaching Against Each Other

Michigan (4-5) at Northwestern (3-5), 3:30pm ET, ESPN2
Curt Mallory (linebacker 1988-91); and
Roy Manning (linebacker 2000-04)
Curt Mallory and Manning are both coaching with their alma mater. Curt is in his fourth season; Manning is in his second season.
Mike Hankwitz (tight end 1967-69): A senior on the 1969 team, Hankwitz is now the Defensive Coordinator for Northwestern.
Three former players, spanning the 1960’s 1980’s, 1990’s, and 2000’s, are part of the coaching staffs in this game.

#24 West Virginia (6-3) at Texas (4-5), 3:30pm ET, 2:30pm CT on FOX Sports 1.
Tony Gibson (Secondary Coach 2008-10): Now Defensive Coordinator with West Virginia.
Vance Bedford (DB Coach 1995-98; Secondary Coach 2007): Now Defensive Coordinator at his alma mater, the University of Texas.
Former Michigan Secondary Coaches are now Defensive Coordinators. They square off against each other in Austin.

Former Michigan Players and/or Coaches

Greg Frey (OL Coach 2008-10): Now OL Coach, Indiana.
The Hoosiers, 3-5, host Penn State at noon ET on the Big Ten Network.

Jerry Montgomery (Defensive Line Coach 2011-12): Montgomery is in his second season as Defensive Line Coach with Oklahoma.
The Sooners, 6-2 and #16 in the nation, host 10th ranked Baylor at noon ET, 11:00am CT on FOX Sports 1.

Marcus Knight (wide receiver 1996-99): A senior on Team 120, Knight is now Northern Michigan University Wide Receivers Coach. A Division II squad, the 2-7 Wildcats visit Ferris State in a noon ET kickoff.

Jim Lyall (defensive lineman 1970-73)
Lyall is now Head Coach of the NAIA Siena Heights Saints. The Saints, 5-3, host 17th ranked Robert Morris (Ill.) in a noon ET kickoff.

Bruce Tall (Defensive Line Coach 2008-10): Now UNC Charlotte Defensive Coordinator.
In their second season in program history, the 3-5 49ers of the FCS host Coastal Carolina at noon ET.

Scott Shafer (Defensive Coordinator 2008): Shafer is in his second season as Head Coach of the Orange.
Syracuse, 3-6, hosts #22 Duke at 12:30pm ET on ESPN3.

Adam Braithwaite (Safeties Coach, 2010): Now in his third season with UT Chattanooga, and his second as Defensive Coordinator.
Chattanooga, 6-3 and ranked #11 in FCS, hosts Wofford in a 1:00pm ET game on ESPN3.

Matt Dyson (linebacker 1990-94): A senior on Team 115, Dyson is now Head Coach for George Mason University. A club team, the Patriots, 3-4, visit Valley Forge Military Academy in a 1:00pm ET kickoff.

Jay Hopson (Linebackers Coach 2008-09): Now Head Coach of Alcorn State. The 7-2 Braves visit Alabama A&M at 2:00pm ET.

Mike Elston (linebacker 1993-96): A senior on Team 117, Elston is now the DL Coach for Notre Dame. The Irish, 7-1 and ranked 8th in the nation, visit 11th ranked Arizona State in a 3:30pm ET kickoff on ABC.

Adam Stenavich (offensive line 2001-05): Now in his first season as Offensive Line Coach for Northern Arizona. The Lumberjacks of the FCS, 6-3, host UC Davis in a 4:00pm ET, 2:00pm MT kickoff.

Chuck Heater (running back 1971-74): Heater is in his second season as Marshall’s Defensive Coordinator. The Herd, 8-0 and ranked #23, visit Southern Miss at 7:00pm ET.

Les Miles, offensive lineman 1972-75 and Offensive Line Coach 1987-94
Cam Cameron, WR Coach 1986-89; WR & QB Coach 1990-1993
Miles, a senior on Team 96, is now Head Coach at LSU, where Cameron is his Offensive Coordinator. The Tigers, 7-2 and ranked #14 in the land, host 4th ranked Alabama, 8:00pm ET, 7:00pm CT on CBS.

Tony Dews (WR Coach 2008-10);
Calvin McGee (Offensive Coordinator 2008-10); and
Rod Smith (QB Coach 2008-10):
All with the Arizona Wildcats and Rich Rodriguez – Dews as WR Coach; McGee as Offensive Coordinator; and Smith as QB Coach.
The Wildcats, 6-2 and ranked #21 in the nation, host Colorado in an 8:00pm ET, 6:00pm MT kickoff on the Pac-12 Network.

Greg Robinson (Defensive Coordinator 2009-10): Now Defensive Coordinator, San Jose State University. The Spartans, 3-5, visit Fresno State in a 10:30pm ET, 7:30pm PT kickoff on CBS Sports Network.

Bye Week

Mike Hart (running back 2004-07): A senior on Team 128, Hart is now Running Backs Coach for Western Michigan University. The Broncos, 6-3, have a bye this week.

Scot Loeffler (quarterback 1993-96 and QB Coach 2002-07): In his second season as Offensive Coordinator with Virginia Tech. The Hokies, 4-5, have a bye this week.

Steve Stripling (Defensive Line Coach 2005-07): Stripling is in his second season as Defensive Line Coach at the University of Tennessee.
The Volunteers, 4-5, have a bye this week.

Facebook Twitter Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *